[Manual] Files & Folders Restore
Backup/Restore - Files & Folders Restore
The File & Folders restore is used to restore files and folders.
1. Go to Backup/Store > Restore.
⇨ The Restore Wizards window is opened.
2. Click Files & Folders.
⇨ The Files & Folders Restore window is opened. The Restore Wizards window is closed.
Selecting backup files for restore
1. In the OS/Nodes/Jobs panel, select the operating system (OS), the node and the jobs.
2. In the Job Details list, select the files/folders you wish to restore.
For a detailed description, see Backup/Restore - Performing restore (example).
Selecting target options
After the files/folders to be restored have been selected, you can select the options for the target drive.
1. Select the desired options.
Destination Node Selection: Selecting the target computer
Restore to original node
The files/folders will be restored to the computer from which they were originally backed up.
Restore to alternative node
The files/folder will be restored to another computer.
General Restore Options: General restore options
Overwrite existing files
Selected: Existing files/folders of the same name on the target drive are overwritten.
Deselected: Existing files/folders of the same name on the target drive are not overwritten.
If there are already files/folders with the same name on the target directory, an error message is generated and shown in the restore report. The respective files/folders are not restored.
Restore including ACLs
The user rights of the files are included in the restore.
The ACLs refer to the user rights as defined in the Windows domain. An error message is generated, if a user is not found on the target drive. Cause: The target drive does not correspond to the source drive.
Selected: The ACLs are included in the restore.
Deselected: The ACLs are not included in the restore.
Restore ACLs only
Selected: Only the user rights are read from the backups and restored.
Scenario: In Windows, user rights are inherited from the top down. If the user rights at the highest level have been inadvertently changed, the user rights at all lower levels are also changed, and certain files might no longer be accessible.
Destination Node Option: Options concerning the target node
Use original destination
The data is restored to the original source from which it has been backed up.
Use following alternative destination
The data is restored to another drive.
Enter the path of the drive or select it by clicking [Browse].
Other available options:
Files only/No directories and Use following path filter string not selected:
If no selection is made here, the entire path of the source file (e.g. C:\User\Hugo\Letter.doc) is attached to the path of the specified target drive (e.g. G:\New folder).
Result: G:\New folder\c\User\Hugo\Letter.doc
Files only/No directories
Only the file name (e.g. Letter.doc) is attached to the target folder name(e.g. G:\New folder).
Result: G:\New Folder\Letter.doc
Use following path filter string
A section of the original path of the file is replaced with the path entered in Use following alternate destination.
You wish to retain the folder Hugo from the source path (e.g. C:\User\Hugo\Letter.doc) in the target folder (e.g. G:\New folder) of the restore.
Enter the following path in the text field: C:\User
Result: G:\New folder\Hugo\Letter.doc
Return to previous window.
Start the restore. The progress of the restore can be viewed in theMonitoring & Reporting > Monitoring window where you also have the option to abort the restore.
1. Click [Restore] to start the restore.
The restore is carried out. You can monitor its progress in Monitoring & Restoring > Monitoring. The data selected for restore is written to the target node. The result of the restore is subsequently displayed in the Report Manager.
- Backup/Restore - Performing restore (example)